BB Frösch has changed my life!

I have to say that I love painting and transforming furniture. Well, I just love Kristen Smith over at BB Frösch she is just the sweetest person I’ve ever met. I love her and I love her product line. 
You see, I have these wonderful friends who were transsforming their furniture with first, spray paint then second, they discovered the expensive boutique chalk paint. I loved everything they did but I couldn’t buy the paint that I needed on a teachers salary and bills to pay. I did buy some and I loved the results but I had to figure out how to get my hands on more money so I could feed my new found passion. 

The very first project I took on was this hutch and the side tables that go with it. I painted the tables an antique white because I was going to paint the entire hutch that color because it was “safe”in my world. 

This hutch is from Hong Kong and is just gorgeous. My lovely mother in law gave it to me because I had asked her about buying it from her. Don’t you just love the details? I’m so glad nobody else wanted it because I had a vision for it.  

After painting the tables Old White I loved them but didn’t know if I wanted a hutch of this size in a blaring white. So I waited because I knew I was going to have to go buy more of that expensive paint. 


These tables turned out great but I sanded them down after and it felt too planned. So for the hutch I wanted it to be more random. 


They look lovely and it was easy but I wanted a little color because all my furniture was brown. I mean EVERYTHING. So after saving up I headed over to the boutique and forked over more cash. I was told that one quart would easily cover this hutch so I only bought one. (Btw, it didn’t take only one I actually needed to buy one more) I only put one coat on it so it would have some of the dark wood show through. Here is the hutch as a whole:

Now this hutch is big and it only took about two hours to paint. (I know this because I completed it while my boys were at scouts). 


Here are a few up close shots (sorry the color is off in my pictures):


I’ve been asked over and over how I gave it the antique look. Well, I wanted to have an antique look anyway so I painted it lightly on. I learned it was faster and easier the painting and sanding. I’m all about easier. Haha

Now to explain how BB Frösch has changed my life. You see, I’m a bargain hunter with everything. I even did a 1 year challenge to not purchase any new items for my closet for one year-with the exception of under clothes and socks. I was challenged to purchase everything for my closet at second hand stores. I did it. And after that I was changed. 

Don’t get me wrong, BB Frösch isn’t like going to a second hand store, it’s like the boutique paint at bargain prices. And it works just the same. 
In this blog I will share with you my journey to transform furniture and to make it more beautiful. 

Today I received my Jane.com order and I’m super excited!! It came with dark wax, clear wax and BLACK wax with a powder! I’m so excited about this new wax because it’s not available yet with the BB Frösch masters. I can’t wait to show you what I do with it. 

Now, go paint something. 
~Nichol

Leave a comment