What a difference a little color can make!

I was looking online to find some dressers when I spotted this beast for sale! She was so hard to see in the picture and when I saw her in person I knew I could make her gorgeous! As I unloaded her and brought her home I started to have this feeling that she needed to be a bold color. Mostly because look at all the design! Something this ornate and unique needed more than white or gray. To me she was calling yellow!

The only problem with yellow is you have to pick the right yellow. So I color matched a yellow I found and the transformation began.

The best part about using BB Frösch is I can actually use any color I want and not be limited to certain colors. The one thing I did was used the dark wax to make this beauty look vintage. I have to be honest here, I’ve been so nervous to use dark wax that I literally had the same jar of dark wax for almost a year!  I’m kind of afraid of change and this was something new. As I began the process I was so skeptical of what I was doing that I actually texted my husband and asked if he liked it. He couldn’t tell of course so he thought no but I decided to just go for it.

This lovely piece has so many crevices that it made antiquing a dream! Just look at the picture below! It looks like it was always there don’t you think? And the best part is I loved each part as I finished it.

As I came closer to completion of this project I fell in love with it more and more. I had decided I wanted to keep it instead of selling it and once my husband came home and saw it he said we needed to keep it too! So, I sold a piece I had upstairs in the loft. 😉

And below is the final product! The best part about keeping her is I get to enjoy her every time I watch tv, sit on the couch, or walk through my front door! I’m still swooning!


And it makes my heart happy to change something into this each day! I think this is the biggest reason why I love painting furniture!

What can I paint for you?

~Nichol

One thought on “What a difference a little color can make!

  1. Pingback: What to do with an old outdated dresser! | The Essentials in Life

Leave a comment