What to do with an old outdated dresser!

Who remembers your parents bedroom set with all the twists and turns andlarge hardware? Mine had a set very. Lose to his one and it was not only huge it was HEAVY! I remember the two. If mirrors and the stuff on top for miles. And they even had the matching side tables! I don’t know about you but the 70’s and 80’s were full of dark big furniture that seemed to consume an entire room. But, that was the style right? 

Well, I’ve found a few pieces like that (See this post) and I’m addicted to changing them and giving them a whole new life. When you look at this piece so,stiles it’s hard to imagine anything other than this looming dark furniture that weighs a ton and takes up half the bedroom. 

the essentials in life

(Crazy matching side tables – set of 2 of course😂)

My first thought was yellow like the last post because it turned out so lovely, but then I thought maybe a deep red. But the yellow kept coming to me because the red or blue seemed not right for this piece. 

The next picture shows off do,e of the hardware. Doesn’t it just sing now? 

Now the middle had three drawers but what I did was remove them and turn his lovely into a media console. My husband drilled 1″ holes in the back so the wires could be fed through for any game consoles, DVDs players, or DVR machines. 

The best part of doing this is you can close the doors when they’re not in use and you don’t have to look at the wires or machines. Talk about removing clutter of the eyes. 

Here is the finished product. She is stunning don’t you think? 

the essentials in life


And all this was made possible by BB Frösch chalk paint powder and wax! This lovely set sold in 3 days! Turns out this yellow is a popular color and my client was so happy with how these pieces turned out. I can’t wait to show you my next project!

What can I paint for you?

~Nichol

Leave a comment